Police Department

The Police Department (APD) is currently comprised of 34 sworn personnel: a Chief, a Captain, three Lieutenants, three Sergeants, five Detectives, nineteen Patrol Officers, and two School Resource Officers. The department operates three overlapping shifts of ten hours each, covering twenty-four hours per day/seven days per week. The department also has non-sworn personnel: an administrative assistant, three Community Service Officers, a Parking Enforcement officer, the Police Reserves, and the Police Explorers.

The Police Department is housed in the Mower County Law Enforcement Center, which is also the home of the Mower County Sheriff’s Office (MCSO) and the Communications Center. The APD works jointly with the MCSO with the support of the Communications Center (Dispatch). Dispatch operates under non-sworn personnel and handles emergency calls and directs Law Enforcement Officials, Fire Department Officials, and Emergency Response Personnel to reports throughout the city and county. The Law Enforcement Center is located near the new Justice Center that houses the Mower County Court House, Mower County Jail, Mower County Correctional Services, and the Mower County Attorney’s Office. The Police Department is proud to serve the Austin community by community policing activities, and works closely with the school system with the help of the two School Resource Officers.

Emergency situations: 911                               Non-emergency situations: (507) 437-9400

Chief’s Welcome

On behalf of the men and women of the Austin Police Department, welcome to the department’s website.

The Police Department is a proactive team-oriented agency.  We are constantly striving to promote public safety and to enhance the quality of life in our community through innovative policing and community partnerships.  We do recognize that maintaining a safe community is only possible because of a strong valued relationship between our department and the citizens of Austin.  Our citizens recognize the importance of watching out for one another.

Our vision as a team is to accomplish excellence in our service to our community.  Our officers demonstrate this with pride, professionalism, integrity, and teamwork in the performance of their duties.

The City of Austin has a population of 25,000 and is the County Seat of Mower County.  The department has 34 sworn officers, 2.5 community service officers, an administrative assistant, and a part-time parking enforcement officer.

Please enjoy your visit to our website.  I hope you find it useful and informative.  We are always striving to improve our partnerships, so let us know how we are doing.  Thanks for visiting!

Chief of Police

Police Department
201 1st Street NE Suite 2
Austin, MN 55912


The City of Austin provides 24-hour police response with twenty-six officers in its uniformed Patrol Division consisting of three Lieutenants, three Sergeants, eighteen Patrol Officers, and two School Resource Officers who also serve on patrol when school is not in session. The Patrol Officers work one of three overlapping ten-hour shifts.

The primary responsibility of the men and women who work in the patrol division is to respond to citizen calls for assistance. This may involve criminal matters in progress such as domestic assaults, burglaries, thefts, and fights. It may also involve following up on such events after the fact. Our officers also respond to non-criminal matters such as medical emergencies, fires, car accidents, and civil disputes. The School Resource Officers provide the same services within the school system.